

## MEDIA RELEASE

## MEDIA CONTACT

Matt Harrison Communications & Stakeholder Manager, ITS Australia +61 400 787 116 matt.harrison@its-australia.com.au

30 November 2021 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## ITS Australia Board Elections Result Announced

The election of ITS Australia's Board of Directors took place last week, coinciding with the association's Annual General Meeting held online. This year's election resulted in a recomposed board, with one new entrant. There was significant and continued interest in the directorships, with 10 candidates nominated for the eight vacancies.

ITS Australia congratulates the elected board members:

- Mr Dean Zabrieszach (President) HMI Technologies
- Mr Dennis Walsh (Vice-President) Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads
- Dr Dale Andrea Department of Transport Victoria
- Mr Chris Bennetts Transport for NSW
- Ms Segolene Deeley Keolis Downer
- Mr Fred Kalt Yunex Traffic a Siemens Business
- Mr Rob Langridge Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries (FCAI)
- Mr Andrew Paynter GAICD Transmax Pty Ltd

They will join ongoing members of the Board:

- Mr Jeremy Nassau, Transurban
- Mr Brian Negus ITS Australia Ambassador / CICA Group
- · Prof Majid Sarvi, The University of Melbourne
- · Ms Kim Thomas, Integrate
- · Ms Silje Troseth, Q-Free Australia Pty Ltd

"For the second consecutive year, more than half of ITS Australia eligible voters participated in the Board election. ITS Australia's members are highly-engaged and invested in the governance of the association. I am pleased to see consistently strong voter participation," said Mr Dean Zabrieszach, President of ITS Australia.

"ITS Australia's continued strength over the past few years has only been possible because of the support of my colleagues on the Board. I welcome our newly elected members, thank our outgoing

members for their outstanding work on behalf of the association, and I look forward to serving another term as President."

Dean Zabrieszach recognised the contribution of outgoing board members; Dr Chen Cai, Data61 CSIRO; and Ms Cecelia Warren, Insurance Australia Group Limited (IAG). He also acknowledged the contribution of directors who resigned during the year due to changes in circumstance: Mr Michael Watts, Transmax; Ms Natahalie Sassen, Keolis; Mr Richard Delplace, Austroads; Mr Tom Walker, Cubic Transportation Systems.

Dean Zabrieszach also welcomed Mr Simon McLevie as the new Cubic Transportation Systems representative on the ITS Australia Board of Directors; Mr Paul Davies as the new representative of Austroads; and acknowledged the newest elected member of the board, Mr Fred Kalt of Yunex Traffic – a Siemens Business.

"The ITS industry is undergoing an unprecedented transformation towards shared, connected, electric and autonomous transport concepts, all with the aim of making cities more liveable, improving the safety of road users and helping to solve the climate crisis. I am looking forward to being a member of the ITS Australia Board of Directors and working as part of a team to actively address these challenges for Australia," said Mr Kalt.

###

Intelligent Transport Systems Australia (ITS Australia) promotes the development and deployment of advanced technologies to deliver safer, more efficient, and sustainable transport across all public and private modes: air, sea, road, and rail.

Established in 1992, ITS Australia is an independent not-for-profit incorporated membership organisation representing ITS suppliers, government authorities, academia, and transport businesses and users. Affiliated with peak ITS organisations around the world, ITS Australia is a major contributor to the development of the industry.

Key ITS Australia initiatives include convening national summits and international conferences; facilitating dialogue between transport modes and across government jurisdictions; and promoting research, development, and the export of Australian technologies.